How To Delete A TikTok Video: A Quick Guide

3 Min Read 257 Views

There's hardly an individual out there who doesn't know about TikTok. In a matter of a few years, TikTok has become a global sensation. According to the stats for 2020, there are around 700 million active users of TikTok with more than 42 million reviews on the Google Play Store alone.

These are quite some impressive statistics for an app that at its core just deals with short video creation, editing, and uploading. Considering the popularity of TikTok, there are a lot of common questions around it.

One of the most commonly asked questions, following how to get more views on TikTok, is how to delete a TikTok video. Save yourself from your own cringe. Read on to find out how to delete a video under every stage of video creation and posting.

Deleting a Video From the Recording Screen

If you don't know much about how TikTok works, you can check out our complete TikTok video guide. This will allow you to get a better idea of the working dynamics of TikTok.

When you are on the recording screen, there will be times when you are going to think that it is better to delete a video. To do so, you need to tap on the top left arrow on the screen instead of tapping on the next option.

Once you have done that, you will see an X mark at the same spot. Hit the X and click on discard instead of saving.

Deleting a Video on the TikTok Editing Screen

When we talk about how to delete a TikTok, there will be certain sections of the app through which you can delete unwanted videos. For example, you can delete a video on TikTok directly from the editing screen.

To do so, click on the top left corner of the screen, where you will see a back arrow. Once the back arrow is clicked, you will get an X sign at the same spot. Click on the X.

Once you have clicked on the X sign, you will get options to either discard the post or start over. If you want to delete it from TikTok drafts, click on the 'discard' option.

Deleting a Video From the TikTok Posting Screen

Let's say you were all set to post a video on TikTok. But at the last moment, you decide that this video is not good enough or not to post it right now. To delete it and prevent it from getting added to your TikTok video collections follow these instructions.

The first thing you must do is go back from the posting screen if you haven't posted the video yet. You already know how to press the top left back arrow option and do so. The rest of the procedure is the same as above.

You can also get back to the previous window by clicking on the back or home button included in your mobile.

Deleting an Already Shared TikTok Video

If you are a first-time TikTok user, the chances are that you are going to post some cringy videos. To be very honest, this is probably the reason why you must be looking at how to delete TikTok videos in the first place.

But don't worry, TikTok does allow the users to delete an already shared TikTok as well. To do so, you need to go to the 'Me' tab.

Select the video from your TikTok videos collections that you want to delete. Once you have selected the video, click on the three dots visible on the lower side of the screen. After clicking on these dots, scroll down a bit and click on the 'delete' option.

How to Delete a TikTok Video From the Website

This might be a surprise for some users, but TikTok also has a website of its own. The website is accessible by both mobile-based browsers as well as desktop browsers. You might not have your phone handy so are thinking about how to delete a TikTok video from the website.

The majority of the procedure is the same, with a few changes you can easily adapt to. Instead of getting the top left back arrow button, you will deal with the three dots again. 

To delete a video, click on your profile and then select the video you want to remove. Once selected, click on the three dots shown at the bottom end of the video. Scroll down further and click on the delete option.

Deleting a Saved TikTok Video

Generally, saved TikTok videos are going to be stored in the TikTok drafts. You can even directly save videos from here in your gallery or post the videos directly on your main profile after editing. But, if you want to delete the video directly from the saved drafts, the procedure is a bit detailed.

  • First, click on the 'Me' tabs to access the drafts videos from your profile 
  • Once you click on the 'draft' tab, you will access all the saved videos of your profile
  • From there, you can select the video you want to delete following the above procedure

Deleting Multiple Saved TikTok Videos

One of the best things about TikTok is that it knows how to facilitate its users in the first place. Over the years, the app has put some serious effort into allowing its users to get maximum control over their profiles.

For instance, if you want to delete more than one video from the saved TikTok videos drafts, you can now do it with a couple of clicks.

Just go directly to the 'Me' tab and click on the drafts tab. From there, you can select and delete multiple saved TikTok videos by arranging them based on their size or date.

TikTok logo

Boost your social media accounts now!

It’s fun and easy. Just choose the amount of followers, likes, or views, that suits your needs, and blast off to insane account growth.

Get Boosting Now!
  • Safe & Secure

    Our networks are built in a way that provides you with the best and safest service out there, you’re in good hands.

  • 100% Satisfaction

    Our roster of satisfied customers continues to grow becuase of our high quality services.

  • Customer Support

    Be sure that our support team is waiting to answer any question or concern you may have.

  • Money Back Guarantee

    Satisfaction is our first priority. If you are not happy with our service, we guarantee a 100% money back.

+1 (888) 815-1534