Do you want to delete your TikTok account? Are you unsure how to delete your TikTok account?
TikTok is a social media application that allows its users to create short videos. The app has over 500 million downloads worldwide and was launched in 2016.
There are many reasons why you might want to delete your TikTok account. Some of them include privacy concerns, security risks, and simply just not wanting a TikTok account anymore.
So, if you're ready to say goodbye to TikTok, keep on reading!
Why Would Someone Delete Their TikTok Account?
Sometimes, people get bored with apps. After a while, people might become bored with TikTok, and no longer want the app on their phones. Or, maybe they're removing all of their social media, in an attempt to spend more time connecting with the real world.
Others, they might be worried about privacy and security concerns. They might be worried about third-party apps taking their data. Data security is important. Whether TikTok is completely safe when it comes to data is still up for debate.
For the most part, TikTok has the same privacy and security concerns as other apps. However, data and privacy concerns and risks are alarming and are a factor as to why some people delete, or won't use, the app.
Usually, people just remove apps because they're bored with them. Keep in mind that Instagram has very similar features, so for some people, there's no point in having two similar apps on their phones.
Read more: Who Owns TikTok? - A Brief History
How To Permanently Delete Your TikTok Account
Deleting a TikTok account is very easy. Follow the below steps to delete your TikTok account.
- Open the TikTok app.
- Once the TikTok app is opened, select the 'Me' section. This is found in the right-hand corner.
- On the screen, click on the logo that has three dots.
- Then, select the selection which says "Manage My Account".
- There will then be a selection that says 'Delete Account'.
- Next, all you need to do is press the delete account button. You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the account.
- Confirm that you want to delete the account, and that's it!
Read more: Best Time To Post On TikTok
Can I Delete My Account From a Computer?
Yes, if you have already uninstalled the TikTok app, there is an option to delete the account from a laptop, or a computer.
- Type TikTok into the web browser, and select the official TikTok page.
- Sign in to your TikTok account.
- Click on your profile picture.
- Then, select Settings.
- Click the 'Delete Account' option, and then confirm that you want to delete your account. That's it!
Frequently Asked Questions
If I Delete My TikTok Account, Will All My Videos Be Removed?
Yes, if you delete your TikTok account, the videos that you uploaded will all be removed.
The only issue here is to remember that other people could have copied your videos. It's very common for viral videos to be uploaded on a range of social media apps. So, if you have a video that went viral, but someone else has a copy, you can't get rid of that video.
However, TikTok will remove all the videos on your profile when you delete the account.
If I Remove The App From My Screen, Will It Delete My Profile?
No, the only way to delete the app is by actively deleting the profile on the TikTok app.
If you remove the app from your home screen, it will not delete the profile. This will just mean that the app does not appear on your screen. Even if you uninstall the app, it will not remove the TikTok profile.
The TikTok account can only be deleted, by deleting the account through the app.
Is The Account Deactivated, Before Deleted?
Yes, when you delete your profile from the TikTok app, TikTok will give you 30 days to change your mind. This means for 30 days, the account is deactivated.
This pretty much just means the account is removed, but you have 30 days to reactivate the account if you decide you don't want to leave TikTok. After 30 days, the account will be permanently deleted.
Would TikTok Delete My Account?
There are a few reasons why TikTok won't delete your account.
It could be that there is no contact information on the account. To delete an account, there must be an email and a mobile phone associated with the TikTok account.
Otherwise, it might just be a bug. If this happens, contact TikTok and ask them to delete your account for you.
How To Reactivate Your Account?
If you change your mind after deleting your TikTok account, you have 30 days to reactivate your TikTok account. After this period of time, you can no longer reactivate your TikTok account.
It is very easy to reactivate your TikTok account, just follow the below steps:
- Open the TikTok app on your phone.
- Enter your login information.
- Next, a message will appear asking if you want to reactivate your account. Confirm that you want to reactivate your account, and that's it!
It couldn't be simpler to reactivate your account. If you find that you are having trouble with reactivating your account, and it has not been above 30 days, then you should contact TikTok, TikTok will then be able to help you reactivate your account.
Read more: How To Run Paid Advertising On TikTok
In summary, deleting a TikTok account is quick and easy. When you delete a TikTok account, you will get 30 days to reactivate your account. You can only reactivate your account after 30 days, and then the account will be deleted permanently.
If you have any issues with deleting your TikTok account, or issues with reactivating your TikTok account, you should contact TikTok. They will be able to sort out any problems and issues you have with the app.
You can read additional TikTok articles here.