Instagram can be a positive, happy, and fun environment. Unfortunately, the social media app can also be a place full of negative, unwanted comments, bullying, or weird and discomforting spam.
Luckily, Instagram has implemented a new feature, known as the Restrict Function, in an attempt to combat bullying and make their social media platform a happier and safer place to be.
If you're someone who would like to know about restricting other accounts, but aren't sure where to begin, then you've come to the right place. In this article, we detail what restricting on Instagram is, the difference between restricting and blocking, and how to restrict other Instagram users in a plethora of different ways. Read on for more!
What Does "Restrict" Mean On Instagram?
Restricting another user on Instagram is essentially like blocking them without them being able to find out about it. Restricting other Instagram users was initially introduced as an anti-bullying feature for the app. This is because restricting other accounts allows you more control over what content you see on your account. For example, when you use the restrict feature on another account, all of their messages and comments will be hidden from your profile.
The restricted account will still be able to see your profile, but they cannot interact with you as they would normally be able to, and they won't be able to know. This feature is an especially useful way to deal with negative comments and trolling on your Instagram page.
Restrict Vs Block - What's The Difference?
When you block an account on Instagram, you totally prevent them from being able to access your profile. They will still be able to see the top of your profile, such as your profile picture, but they cannot message you, follow you, watch your Instagram story, or see any of your posts.
However, you will not be able to access their profile, either. Plus, blocking people you know can be pretty awkward - especially since people can easily find out if they've been blocked by you!
You should think of Instagram's Restrict feature as a subtle way of blocking another user.
Here are some other differences between restricting and a user, as well as some similarities:
- With both restricting and blocking another account on Instagram, you will not be able to see if each other is active, or when they were last online.
- Both blocked and restricted accounts will still be able to tag you in things. You will still be notified about the tag if you have restricted the account in question, but you will not be notified if the account has been blocked. Therefore, it is important to note that the Restrict feature does not apply to tags.
How Does Restricting On Instagram Affect Messages?
Unlike a blocked account, a restricted person will still be able to send you a message. However, unlike a normal message, it will appear in the 'message request' section of your Direct Messages. You can see their message if you manually check your message requests, but you will receive no notification for the message and can continue on as normal never knowing about it.
If you decide to view the message, then don't worry! The restricted user will not be notified or know that you've seen it. If you do want to reply, then you should click the 'Unrestrict' button at the bottom of your phone screen. If you want to remove the message, then simply click 'Delete'.
How Does Restricting On Instagram Affect Profile Access?
Unlike the block feature, restricting another Instagram account does not affect much on the other person's end. They will still be able to see your profile and posts. Additionally, they will also be able to see your stories, and you will be able to see theirs.
Additionally, they can still comment on your posts, but those comments will not be able to have an impact on you or your followers. You will still be able to comment on their posts as normal; they will be able to see your comments without any issues.
When a restricted person comments on your post, it will still appear along with other comments, but unbeknownst to them, it will appear under a protected message to you. Additionally, you won't receive any notification for the comment, and you'll only be able to see it if you click on your post and go through the comments yourself.
Read more: What Is The Best Time To Post On Instagram?
How To Restrict An Account On Instagram
You can restrict another account on Instagram in three different ways. Learn how to do it by following these simple steps!
- To restrict another Instagram user from your settings, simply click the three-bar menu icon at the top of your profile
- Once you have done this go to your Settings and click 'Privacy'
- Next, click 'Restricted Accounts'
- Finally, search for the account you’d like restricted, and hit the 'Restrict' button.
If you want to restrict an Instagram user upon seeing their unwanted comments, then follow these steps:
- Either tap and hold the comment (Android phones) or swipe left on the comment (iPhone) of the account you’d like to restrict.
- There will be an exclamation point in a bubble, known as the Information Icon. Tap it and then hit 'Restrict'
To restrict a user from their own profile, follow these simple steps!
- Go to the desired Instagram profile
- In the top corner of their profile, you will see three dots. Click that.
- You will be taken to the menu, find the 'Restrict' button in the menu and tap it.
And there you have it! You have successfully restricted another Instagram account.
The restrict feature is simple - it is kind of like blocking another user, except unlike blocking, they have no idea they've been restricted. With restrictions in place, you will still be able to see the user in question's profile and vice versa.
However, you will not be notified of any comments they make on your posts, and you will not be notified of any messages you may receive from them. In addition, restricted accounts will still be able to tag you in posts and stories - and you will be notified of these tags. It is important to be aware of this when deciding whether to restrict any account or block them altogether.
Sometimes, other accounts on Instagram make it a less-than-fun place to be. However, with Instagram's new Restrict Feature, you no longer need to worry about them!
You can read additional Instagram articles here.